TNG121: The Arsenal of Freedom



The Arsenal Of Freedom
Production 121
Stardate 41798.2

Media Archives:


While investigating the disappearance of the U.S.S. Drake on the planet Minos, the crew battles aggressive energy spheres, swallowing sinkholes and invisible attackers.

Arriving at Minos, the crew is met by a prerecorded sales pitch for highly-advanced weaponry. This is not surprising, however, since the Minos people were renowned arms dealers during the Erselrope wars.

While exploring the planet Riker, Data and Yar are attacked by an energy sphere. Lieutenant Yar destroys the sphere, but not before it traps Riker in a transparent cube. Then, after Picard and Dr. Crusher beam down to investigate the crisis, the ground swallows them into a subterranean cavern, seriously injuring Dr. Crusher.

Although Data is able to free Riker, the away team is unable to locate Picard and Crusher. Meanwhile, the U.S.S. Enterprise comes under serious attack by an invisible enemy, which La Forge desperately fights to contain. Until the ship can adequately defend itself from the attacker, La Forge cannot beam up the crew members on

Back on the planet, Data finally locates Picard and Crusher. The team discovers that the attacks are coming from a computer-generated weaponry system which has gone out of control and has destroyed the civilization that created it. Fortunately, the team is able to turn the system off in time to save the planet… and themselves.

On board the U.S.S. Enterprise, La Forge is able to destroy the invisible enemy and beam Picard, Crusher, Riker, Data and Yar aboard.



Related Links:

Where to Watch – Local channels and airtimes.
VHS, Laserdisc and DVD availability.
Mission Log Podcast


Patrick Stewart as Jean-Luc Picard™
Jonathan Frakes as William Thomas Riker™
Brent Spiner as Data™
LeVar Burton as Geordi La Forge™
Michael Dorn as Worf™
Gates McFadden as Beverly Crusher™
Marina Sirtis as Deanna Troi™
Wil Wheaton as Wesley Crusher™
Denise Crosby as Natasha “Tasha” Yar™

Guest Cast:

Vincent Schiavelli as The Peddler
Marco Rodriguez as Captain Paul Rice
Vyto Rugins as Chief Engineer Logan
Julia Nickson as Lt. Lian T’Su
George De La Pena as Lt. Solis

Creative staff:

Director: Les Landau
Story By: Maurice Hurley & Robert Lewin
Teleplay By: Richard Manning & Hans Beimler

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.